The Merciless Ones

£8.99

It’s been six months since Deka freed the goddesses in the ancient kingdom of Otera, and discovered who she really is. But war is waging across the kingdom, and the real battle has only just begun. For there is a dark force growing in Otera – a merciless power that Deka and her army must stop. Yet hidden secrets threaten to destroy everything Deka has known. And with her own gifts changing, Deka must discover if she holds the key to saving Otera – or if she might be its greatest threat.

In stock

Description

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! The hotly anticipated, gripping sequel to bestselling YA fantasy THE GILDED ONES. Set in an ancient West African-inspired world, this unmissable YA fantasy series is perfect for fans of CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE and BLACK PANTHER.

“The invention and the tension never flag – an outstanding second book.” Ben Aaronovitch, author of Rivers of London series

It’s been six months since Deka freed the goddesses in the ancient kingdom of Otera, and discovered who she really is… But war is waging across the kingdom, and the real battle has only just begun. For there is a dark force growing in Otera – a merciless power that Deka and her army must stop.

Yet hidden secrets threaten to destroy everything Deka has known. And with her own gifts changing, Deka must discover if she holds the key to saving Otera… or if she might be its greatest threat.

THE MERCILESS ONES is the second, thrilling instalment of the epic fantasy series in which a young heroine fights against a world that would dare tame her.

Praise for THE GILDED ONES:

“Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy.” – Refinery 29

“The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful.” -Stephanie Garber, #1 NYT bestselling author of Caraval

“Debut author Namina Forna’s created a fierce female protagonist you’ll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it.” – Bookriot

Additional information

Weight 0.38 kg
Dimensions 20.14 × 13.44 × 3.06 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

477

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

Location 236 North Street, Bristol, BS3 1JD Phone 0117 953 7961 E-mail hello@storysmithbooks.com Hours Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-6pm | Sunday: 11am-4pm | Monday: closed
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close