The Good Turn: Sharna Jackson

£7.99

Josie is a future-focused, internet-loving eleven-year-old who is desperate to explore the world beyond her cul-de-sac – and her browser. When she learns about Josephine Holloway – a woman who started the first Girl Scout Troop for Black girls in America – she’s certain she must start her own. Enlisting her friends Margot and Wesley, the trio begin their quest for their Camping badge. Drawn to an abandoned factory nearby, they stumble across something strange. A square, ancient television and two tatty armchairs. Beside it, a wooden sideboard with an old photograph of a young, happy couple. What is this? Who, or what, lives here – and why?

In stock

SKU: 9780241523599 Categories: , Tag:

Description

From the award-winning author of High Rise Mystery

‘Brilliant; a joy to the very end’ Katherine Rundell

‘I love it!’ Elle McNicoll

A sharp, funny middle grade adventure with themes of real-life activism and how to help others for fans of Polly Ho-Yen and Robin Stevens.

Josephine Williams is a future-focused, internet-loving eleven-year-old who is desperate to explore the world beyond her cul-de-sac – and her browser.

When she learns about Josephine Holloway – a woman who started the first Girl Scout Troop for Black girls in America – she’s certain she must start her own.

Enlisting her friends Margot Anderson and Wesley Evans, the trio begin their quest for their Camping Badge.

Drawn to an abandoned factory nearby, they stumble across something strange. A square, ancient television and two tatty armchairs. Beside it, a wooden sideboard with an old photograph of a young, happy couple.

What is this? Who, or what, lives here – and why?

‘An intriguing mystery adventure . . . bold and brilliant’ Sophie Anderson

‘A joy to read.’ Alex Wheatle

‘A funny, warm and thought-provoking celebration of community of all kinds’ Anna James

Praise for Sharna Jackson:

‘Jackson’s voice is distinct and original, while her deft characterisation and evocation of place make for a funny, engaging modern mystery’ – Guardian

‘This story reads with a rare freshness and energy. The voices and the setting are convincing and vivid… an intriguing mystery’ – The Times

Additional information

Weight 0.318 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

381

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

Location 236 North Street, Bristol, BS3 1JD Phone 0117 953 7961 E-mail storysmithbooks@gmail.com Hours Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-6pm | Sunday: 11am-4pm | Monday: closed
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close