We Had to Remove This Post: Hanna Bervoets

£12.99

For readers of Leila Slimani’s Lullaby or Ling Ma’s Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star.

In stock

SKU: 9781529087222 Category: Tags: ,

Description

‘Taut as a thriller, sharp as a slug of ice-cold vodka’. Irish Times

To be a content moderator is to see humanity at its worst – but Kayleigh needs money. That’s why she takes a job working for a social media platform whose name she isn’t allowed to mention. Her job: reviewing offensive videos and pictures, rants and conspiracy theories, and deciding which need to be removed.

It’s gruelling work. Kayleigh and her colleagues spend all day watching horrors and hate on their screens, evaluating them with the platform’s ever-changing moderating guidelines. Yet Kayleigh is good at her job, and in her colleagues she finds a group of friends, even a new girlfriend – and for the first time in her life, Kayleigh’s future seems bright.

But soon the job seems to change them all, shifting their worlds in alarming ways. How long before the moderators own morals bend and flex under the weight of what they see?

We Had To Remove This Post by Hanna Bervoets is a chilling, powerful and gripping story about who or what determines our world view. Examining the toxic world of content moderation, the novel forces us to ask: what is right? What is real? What is normal? And who gets to decide?

Translated from the original Dutch by Emma Rault.

‘A superbly poised, psychologically astute and subtle.’ Ian McEwan, author of Atonement

‘Fast paced and thrilling, violent and nightmarish and grief-stricken.’ Kristen Arnett, author of Mostly Dead Things

‘An acid glimpse into a new form of labor existing today.’ Ling Ma, author of Severance

Additional information

Weight 0.268 kg
Dimensions 22.3 × 14.3 × 2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

160

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

839.3137 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Location 236 North Street, Bristol, BS3 1JD Phone 0117 953 7961 E-mail hello@storysmithbooks.com Hours Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-6pm | Sunday: 11am-4pm | Monday: closed
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close