Diary of a Void: Emi Yagi

£12.99

When 34-year-old Ms Shibata gets a new job in Tokyo to escape sexual harassment at her old one, she finds that, as the only woman at her workplace, she is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day, she announces that she can’t clear away her colleagues’ dirty cups – because she’s pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is – Ms Shibata isn’t! Pregnant Ms Shibata doesn’t have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms Shibata isn’t forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms Shibata rests, watches TV, takes long baths, and even joins an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But pregnant Ms Shibata also has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Helped along by towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app on which she can log every stage of her ‘pregnancy’, she feels prepared to play the game for the long haul. Before long, though, the hoax becomes all-absorbing, and the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.

In stock

SKU: 9781787302945 Category: Tags: , , ,

Description

‘One of the most intriguing new novels of the summer.’ Independent

For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions…

A prizewinning, thrillingly subversive debut novel from a new star of Japanese fiction, perfect for readers of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs

‘Darkly funny and surprisingly tender.’ Kirsty Logan, author of THINGS WE SAY IN THE DARK

‘So tightly written, and so much fun to read.’ Kikuko Tsumura, author of THERE’S NO SUCH THING AS AN EASY JOB

As the only woman in her office, Ms Shibata is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day she announces that she can’t clear away her coworkers’ dirty cups – because she’s pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant.

Pregnant Ms Shibata doesn’t have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms Shibata isn’t forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms Shibata can rest, watch TV, take long baths, and even join an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But she has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her ‘pregnancy’, the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.

Diary of a Void will keep you turning the pages to see just how far Ms Shibata will go.

Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North

Additional information

Weight 0.225 kg
Dimensions 21.6 × 13.5 × 1.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

224

Language

English

Edition

C format original

Dewey

895.636 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Location 236 North Street, Bristol, BS3 1JD Phone 0117 953 7961 E-mail storysmithbooks@gmail.com Hours Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-6pm | Sunday: 11am-4pm | Monday: closed
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close