Daughters of Sparta: Claire Heywood (signed)

£16.99

A debut novel of mythological re-imagining from Claire Heywood. For fans of Circe and Ariadne.

 

To collect your copy from the shop on release day, select ‘in-store pick-up’ at the checkout.

Only 1 left in stock

Description

Two sisters parted. Two women blamed. Two stories reclaimed.

‘Required reading for fans of Circe . . . a remarkable, thrilling debut’ – Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

‘Fluent and persuasive. I admire the ambition with which Heywood tackles the subject, to which she brings freshness and verve. I enjoyed it very much’ – Elizabeth Buchan, bestselling author of The Museum of Broken Promises

 

For millennia, two women have been blamed for the fall of a mighty civilisation – but now it’s time to hear their side of the story.

. . As princesses of Sparta, Helen and Klytemnestra have known nothing but luxury and plenty.

With their high birth and unrivalled beauty, they are the envy of all of Greece. Such privilege comes at a high price, though, and their destinies are not theirs to command. While still only girls they are separated and married off to legendary foreign kings Agamemnon and Menelaos, never to meet again.

Their duty is now to give birth to the heirs society demands and be the meek, submissive queens their men expect. But when the weight of their husbands’ neglect, cruelty and ambition becomes too heavy to bear, they must push against the constraints of their sex to carve new lives for themselves – and in doing so make waves that will ripple throughout the next three thousand years.

Perfect for readers of Circe and Ariadne, Daughters of Sparta is a vivid and illuminating retelling of the Siege of Troy that tells the story of mythology’s most vilified women from their own mouths at long last.

Helen of Troy and her sister Klytemnestra are reimagined in this gorgeous retelling of the classic Greek myth – not as women defined by their husbands and lovers but as battle-weary survivors of a patriarchal society who take control of their own destiny.

Location 49 North Street, Bristol, BS3 1EN Phone 0117 279 1751 E-mail storysmithbooks@gmail.com Hours Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-6pm | Sunday: 11am-4pm | Monday: closed
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close