Centroeuropa: Vicente Luis Mora

£10.99

Prussia, the early 19th century. As he attempts to bury his recently deceased wife, Redo Hauptshammer uncovers the frozen body of a uniformed soldier. As he continues to dig, the bodies start to pile up – all of them fallen cavalrymen bearing the secrets of an earlier era. For readers of W.G. Sebald and Agustin Fernandez Mallo, this archaeological novel digs into Europe’s soil, uncovering a long history of violence and expropriation. Mora’s writing is audacious, melancholy, and formally experimental, with each chapter exactly double the length of the one that precedes it – as the bodies proliferate, the story keeps getting more complicated.

In stock

SKU: 9781913512392 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

Prussia, the early 19th century. As he attempts to bury his recently deceased wife, Redo Hauptshammer uncovers the frozen body of a uniformed soldier. As he continues to dig, the bodies start to pile up – all of them fallen cavalrymen bearing the secrets of an earlier era. For readers of W. G. Sebald and Agustin Fernandez Mallo, this archaeological novel digs into Europe’s soil, uncovering a long history of violence and expropriation. Mora’s writing is audacious, melancholy, and formally experimental, with each chapter exactly double the length of the one that precedes it – as the bodies proliferate, the story keeps getting more complicated. In a bold yet lyrical translation by Rahul Bery, Centroeuropa introduces English-speaking readers to one of Europe’s pre-eminent experimental prose writers currently at work.

Additional information

Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

1

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

863.7 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close